Lynne Bryant

1. Lynne Bryant

As a writer, many of my stories come from my upbringing in rural Mississippi, where my maternal grandparents farmed cotton and my mother is one of their 15 children. I grew up during the era of the Civil Rights Movement and came of age during the volatile integration of Mississippi’s schools.
advertisement advertisement

Books by Lynne Bryant

Alligator Lake Now in Stores!

Alligator Lake coming April 2012

A summer wedding calls Avery Pritchett home. Back to the fertile Mississippi Delta she left ten years ago. Back to the family that sent her away…

As a pregnant teenager, Avery Pritchett found refuge in Colorado, but now, ten years later, her brother’s wedding — and some burning questions — bring her back home to her small Southern town.

But will introducing her mixed-race daughter to her eccentric grandmother bring solace or sorrow?

Will confronting her class-conscious mother allow for new beginnings or confirm old resentments? And how can she ask for forgiveness of her lover from her youth who has been denied his child all these years?

As the summer progresses, Avery’s return provokes shocking discoveries — of choices made, and secrets kept, and of deceptions that lie closer than she suspects.

Praise for Alligator Lake

“A lyrical, gorgeous novel about fractured family, racial tensions, and the way the past flows right up through the present. Bryant’s eloquent tale may be Southern at heart, but it’s universal in its powerful message.” — Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You

“Poignant and redemptive, Alligator Lake immerses us in the murky waters of a shifting southern current, where the push and pull of racial boundaries redefine love, loyalty, and heart wrenching pride. Lynne Bryant writes beautifully about the challenges and choices that divide a family in a predominantly segregated Mississippi town, yet delivers us the promise that hope and forgiveness can be found where we least expect them.” — Eileen Clymer Schwab, author of Promise Bridge and Shadow of a Quarter Moon

“Lynne Bryant’s Alligator Lake is a gutsy examination of southern race relations. Bryant is provocative and unflinching as she reveals her characters’ private hopes and fears. Her abiding love for Mississippi shines through as she wrestles with its troubled history. Ultimately, Alligator Lake is a commentary on the redemptive power of love and friendship.” — Natalie Baszile, author of Queen Sugar

“Set in a picturesque Mississippi town, Alligator Lake is a powerful and compassionate portrait of love, secrets, prejudice, and redemption in the intertwined histories of four generations of southern women. Bryant deftly weaves a tale steeped in the atmosphere, charm and complex racial relationships of an evolving South. Alligator Lake is a compelling and memorable read.” –Lynn Sheene, author of The Last Time I Saw Paris

Praise for Catfish Alley

“…her tale will appeal to readers who enjoyed The Help. The author accesses her own tumultuous Southern history to lend her enchanting tale much local color.” — Publishers Weekly

“4 and1/2 stars–TOP PICK–”Beautifully written and extremely poetic… full of tales of courage and endurance that may bring you to tears with their intensity, this is not a novel you’ll soon forget.” — RT Book Reviews

“A tender, wise, unique story of life, love, and southern women, crafted by a skilled writer who understands the struggle to find happiness and the healing power of friendship.” — Lisa Wingate, author of Beyond Summer and Larkspur Cove

“In the tradition of The Help, Lynne Bryant’s Catfish Alley tackles the racial divide of both 1920s and current-day Mississippi in a page-turning narrative that has, at its heart, the search for personal connections as the path to both survival and understanding.” — Lalita Tademy, author of Cane River

Catfish Alley is a bittersweet love song to the union of women, and a heartfelt meditation on the old and new wounds of a South that still must tiptoe, still doesn’t always know how to move forward, but is determined to try. Lynne Bryant writes honorably and earnestly about women facing each other and themselves.” — Barbara O’Neal, How to Bake a Perfect Life
Find out more about Catfish Alley >>